Week Two “Online Privacy” Reflection

Reading the responses to my blog post on privacy policy was an overwhelmingly positive experience. I was very taken back by how positive the responses are, so thank you everyone. Looking back, the comments left seems to all agree with my initial comments on privacy policy. Reading the comments gave me the conclusion, that Facebook and other social media websites are a reflection of self. Therefore, it is very important to project the right image of yourself.  Like kkuhl2013 says I know exactly who am I am and I feel this is a quality that is very important. Especially when it come to a project of self on these social media website, where future employers are checking.  I completely agree with kkuhl2013 comment “too do not differentiate between the real me and the online me. I am who I am. Plus, I think it would take too much work to keep a dream life going as well as the real life!” I feel like it would be exhausting to constantly have to play the roles of a double life, be you, and then someone else online.

 

Another reason I feel it is important to truly know who you are, is too due with the issue that adanc2013 brought up. “The struggle as you said with what to post and what not to as a version of our own created privacy”, and “Thoughts and tangents we go on can sometimes result in “behavior’s we are not proud of, or we regret”. If you truly know yourself I don’t think that these issues would be present. I believe the struggle and confusion of your current thoughts and who you really are as a person will result in sort term thoughts and feelings. However in the morning one may regret having said those thoughts. I have made this mistake before several times and have come to realize that these comments are not necessary to be said and give off a perception of one’s self that may not be how you would want. One example I can give is a comment I made during the Toronto Maple Leafs, playoff game 7, “I hate Chara”. Chara in this case, is a player on the Boston Bruins, who is known to be a bully on the ice. I woke up the next morning and was very depended about the devastating lose, and regret writing that post.

Jamie Harris brings up a great point. “If someone who knows what they’re doing can’t, how can you expect people unfamiliar with computers to know how”? I definitely agree with idea, as I am not that great with computers, and am unfamiliar with all the different privacy setting Facebook and other social media websites have. For people like me, I think there should be an online seminar teaching users how to use these setting properly. These lessons could minimize the feeling of “millions of people have access to this information”. A problem agreed to by Business Girl. 

Leave a Reply

